Junior Black Sox depart for Prague

The Temperzone New Zealand Junior Black Sox depart for Prague, Czech Republic later today. The team will compete in the 2015 European Men's Super Cup from 24-29 of August.

The tournament will provide some critical international experience for the young athletes ahead of the 2016 ISF Junior Men's Championship to be held in Midland, Michigan, USA.

There will be plenty of tough competition featuring in Prague, including Black Sox Brad Rona playing for the Stenlose Bulls, Canada's Kyle Linton, and some big Argentinian names.

Assistant coach and Black Sox legend, Jarrad Martin, believes this tournament will be tough for the team, but a necessary learning experience. "There will be lots of international players that have recently been playing in the ISF world champs and the ISC's, but it will be good character building for the boys", says Martin. "This will provide us the opportunity to find our leaders and leadership groups within the team. We want to give these players as much opportunity as possible to enable them to be considered for selection."

On return to New Zealand, the coaches will also select a team for the U23 tournament to be played at Ramblers Softball Club, Auckland in late September this year. Martin mentioned that the coaches want to include players who did not have the opportunity to travel to Europe.

The final team for the 2016 world championship will be named at the completion of the U19 National tournament in January.

The final three days of the Super Cup will be broadcasted for free via the official website, http://escm2015.eu.

Other key links:

- https://www.facebook.com/escm2015.eu
- https://www.facebook.com/SoftballNZ
- www.softball.org.nz

2015 Temperzone Junior Black Sox Team for European Super Cup

Seth BOURGEOIS (Auckland)
Bailey HAMILTON (Canterbury)
Joshua MERRITT (Wellington)
Phillip MANNING (North Harbour)
Jarome McKENZIE (Auckland)
Joseph KOHLHASE (Auckland)
Murphy ALBRIGHT (Hutt Valley)
Mardi McBRIDE (Nelson)
Callum LEWIS-CARSON (Hawkes Bay
Jayden STRATFORD (Wellington)
Jason TANIRAU (Hutt Valley)

Dante Matakatea (Wellington)
Reilly Makea (Wellington)
Jackson Watt (Canterbury
Alex LUNDON (Wellington)
Callum BISHOP (Canterbury)
Marshall LAYT-MAYNARD (Auckland)
Kaleb RONA (North Harbour)

Non travelling reserves: Brodie BOYCE (Counties) Sean MULHOLLAND (Wellington)